The Old Second Keeper TrickBy: The Offside | November 19th, 2012
This goes from funny to there’s something terribly wrong with the rules of this sport in a jiffy.
You’ll notice the alarming presence of two goalkeepers for this lower division Argentinean side, which is either remarkable genius or remarkably stupid. Or both. Probably both. The second, of course, is the non-playing substitute who saves a goal by running onto the pitch. The goal isn’t then given, but a free kick instead. A free kick which is saved. The second keeper was sent off, the “offending team” still plays with 11, there is no goal scored despite one inevitable, and…well, there’s really no justice here.
What if this was a final? It’d be entirely worth the punishment and equally unfair.